Pinewood Derby

About the Pinewood Derby

The Pinewood Derby is a racing event for Cub Scout Pack 334. Cub Scouts, with the help of parents, build their own cars from wood from kits supplied by the Pack. Awards are given for First, Second, and Third place in races, as well as for Most Unusual, Most Colorful, Most Detailed, Best Design, Best Display. Parents and siblings are also invited to create their own cars to compete in our separate Family Race.

A day of fun, food, cheering, and creativity, the Pinewood Derby is one of the highlights of Cub Scouting year.

Each Cub Scout wishing to participate is given an official kit including instructions, a block of wood made of pine, four plastic wheels, and four nails. Kits are usually handed out in early December and the race is usually held at the end of January.

Pinewood Derby Kit
This is what is in the kit.

The finished car must use all nine pieces, and must meet the following specifications (included on the instructions supplied with each kit):

  • Width: – 2-3/4″
  • Length – 7″
  • Weight – Not over 5 Ounces
  • Width between wheels – 1-3/4″
  • Bottom clearance between can and track – 3/8″

Other than these basic design rules, Cub Scouts are encouraged to carve and decorate the car however they choose. Blocks can be whittled with a hand knife, bandsaw, or Dremel carving tool for major shaping. Decals can be bought at scout shops or hobby shops.

Many Cub Scouts also add weights to the final design to bring the car to the maximum allowable weight; coins and glued-in lead or steel pieces are common ways to add weight. Cars typically vary from unfinished blocks to whimsical objects, to accurate replicas of actual cars. Dry graphite powder is the only lubricant allowed, and it often helps to polish the provided nails.

Boys Life Magazine has some great tips on How to Make a Fast Pinewood Derby Car.

Rules of the Race

  1. Follow the directions in the pinewood derby kit. Use only the wheels and axles that come in the kit. Accessories may be used to go with the theme of your car. Be aware of the width and length specifications in the directions.
  2. Once the car is weighed-in and submitted, NO ONE, can handle the car to make any alterations to the car of any kind.
  3. If using graphite on the wheels, USE ONLY POWDER graphite.
  4. Weighing in the cars will be every Friday night that we meet. ALL cars must be weighed in and submitted on Weigh In Night to be eligible to race. Sorry, NO LATE ENTRIES.
  5. At anytime you have questions, with anything, advice on building, or even checking the weight of your car, please feel free to call Asst. Cubmaster Fury Colubriale.
  6. There will be judging classifications for the race (held after the race, on a Monday night by the Boy Scout Troop). These classifications are:
    1. Most Unusual
    2. Most Colorful
    3. Most Detailed
    4. Best Design
    5. Best Display

Be creative, have fun and maybe try for one an award. There will be trophies or plaques for each of the creative classifications as well as for the actual race of First, Second and Third Place. Please come and have fun. Cheer on your favorite car! Family and friends always welcome.

Our Pinewood Derby Honor Roll

2023 Awards

Our annual race was held on Saturday, February 4th at 10:00 a.m.

  • 1st Place: John Dillon (Poison Stang)
  • 2nd Place: Charlie Forte (It’s A Philly Thing)
  • 3rd Place: Ezra Weller (Drag Star)
  • Most Unusual: Deklan Dougherty (The Weiner Mobile)
  • Most Colorful: Julian Sendzik (Electric Lightning)
  • Most Detailed: Devi Johnson (Chihuahua Chaser)
  • Best Design: Julien Hoppel (Tayo the Bus)
  • Best Display: John Dillon (Poison Stang) & Julien Hoppel (Tayo the Bus)

2022 Awards

Our annual race was held on

  • 1st Place: Ezra Weller

2021 Awards

Our annual race was held on

2020 Awards

Our annual race was held on

2019 Awards

Our annual race was held on

2018 Awards

Our annual race was held on Saturday, February 3rd at 10:00 a.m.

  • 1st Place: Dominic Ramos (Red Racer)
  • 2nd Place: Jacob Torres ( The Kai Mobile)
  • 3rd Place: Charlie Forte (Remote Racer)
  • Most Unusual: Deklan Dougherty (Poop Mobile)
  • Most Colorful: Sung Il Ryoh (Traveller)
  • Most Detailed: Paul Dzwill (Fast & Furious)
  • Best Design: Ben Thompson (Shark Attack)
  • Best Display: Drew Aldinger (Pizza Pizza) & Leif Hoppel (Rebellion)

2017 Awards

Our annual race was held on Saturday, January 28th at 10:00 a.m.

  • Most Detailed: Leif Hoppel (Nessie the Loch Ness Monster)

2016 Awards

  • 1st Place: Charlie Miller
  • 2nd Place: Andrew Grom
  • 3rd Place: Ben Thompson (The Lightning Bolt)

2015 Awards

  • 1st Place: Patrick Maloney
  • 2nd Place: Caleb Becker
  • 3rd Place: Sean Maloney Note: Unfortunately we do not have records of all of our winners; if you know of an award winner that is not listed, please Contact Us.